Students on the Contemporary Media Cultures course are from all over the world, including China. This mix gives a unique perspective to your studies and an amazing address book. As this blog post by Rena Song (published in autumn 2016) hints, it might also help you discover more about cosplay…

Hi there. I’m Rena Song from Guangzhou, China. I came to the UK when I was 15 and spent three years living in Oxford. Currently I’m doing contemporary media cultures at UAL. To be honest I don’t think I’m a chatty, out-going person but I do have a wide range of interests. I love films and Japanese animes. I sometimes work as a cosplayer, make-up artist, translator and barista. Here are some photos:

img_0151

ABOVE: Cosplaying Ohana Matsumae from Hanasaku Iroha (Blossoms for Tomorrow)

img_5557

ABOVE: cosplaying Kiss-shot from Kizumonogatari (Wound Story)

img_5554

 

ABOVE: assisting the interview with the first three foreign employees in the Chinese government department, in Foshan, working for  theoverseas channel, Guangdong Radio and TV Station.

img_5555

ABOVE: drawing with chocolate sauce on plates for demonstration purposes, working for McCafe.

